Sunday, January 31, 2010

changeable ~



Today we went out and it was windy and cold, with blowing snow - we managed to spot some purple sandpipers in between the snow flakes, and then like magic the sun came out and the snow disappeared!

Saturday, January 30, 2010

Friday, January 29, 2010

Thursday, January 28, 2010

five flavours: sea foam, sea foam, sea foam, sea foam, or for the very brave, the all NEW! sea foam with a couple of rocks ~







!all delicious!

having never been a mother ~

i have been a child and i found this to be beautiful. for all of you mothers out there and children and all of us who once were...

Friday, January 22, 2010

Wednesday, January 20, 2010

finding a safe harbour ~

There is a cove at the end of our road that I walked down to to take a few photos of the ducks and geese that were collecting along the shore. They were quite sensitive to my presence and began swimming out farther into the cove once they sensed me. Out to safer waters. It didn't help matters that a turkey vulture was gliding overhead at the same time.

Saturday, January 16, 2010

warm ~


Yesterday it was beautiful and warm along this coast line. The waves were crashing and we watched some harlequins clustered together riding the waves...

Friday, January 15, 2010

interconnection ~

The beauty of the world wide web is that it can bring all of our hearts together and enable us to make a huge difference even if our ways and means are small. It is through our interconnectedness that we become a strong force. Here are some links to organizations collecting online donations for Haiti. May the aid and assistance get there godspeed.

Tuesday, January 12, 2010

Monday, January 11, 2010

we are what we think ~


We are what we think. All that we are arises with our thoughts. With our thoughts we make the world.
- The Dhammapada - the sayings of the Buddha (new rendering by Thomas Byrom)

Saturday, January 9, 2010

Wednesday, January 6, 2010

dog as teacher ~

Sometimes when sophie and I look into each other's eyes, the truth of eternal love is reflected back at me. That is what it feels like to me. And for a moment nothing else seems to matter .

Tuesday, January 5, 2010

a blank slate ~


alignment ~

* Barrow's Goldeneye or Common Goldeneye - not sure. This duck seems to have features of both. It has the long mane and steep forehead of the barrow's, but the round white marking on its face, rather than the crescent that appears on the common goldeneye...anybody out there have any ideas. Perhaps a hybrid?!

Monday, January 4, 2010